Authentic Self

This morning I was exploring childhood memories of watching The Beverly Hillbillies when I had a certain realization and started crying. I couldn’t stop crying for over ten minutes, and for the next few hours I was visited by waves of sadness, like a rock on the beach being washed by the waves of a receding tide. Even writing this now, I feel twinges. Yes, it was that big.

I realized that the Clampetts symbolize what I’ve spent most of the last 40 years struggling to achieve. I’m not speaking of having a palatial home or millions of dollars; I’m speaking of living an authentic life and being my authentic self. They had a clear sense of who they were and weren’t, regardless of their surroundings and circumstance, and were happy being themselves.

I was grieving the decades when I was so desperate for acceptance that I would do nearly anything. I used to ask what the other person wanted so much of the time that when they asked me what I wanted, I seldom had an answer. In my early relationships, I would ask in various ways “Who would you like me to be?” and then try to make myself into that person. What I do now is say “This is who I am.” and trust that while I’m not everyone’s cup of tea, some people will like me for who I am.

I was grieving that from time to time, in certain situations, I’m still the chameleon – blending in, moving slowly and quietly, trying to avoid being noticed. And I was also celebrating how in so many ways I don’t do that any more. For instance, at lectures I used to be one of the people who would attend and leave without a peep; recently in the Q&A, I asked not one, not two, but three questions. Most importantly, I didn’t feel embarrassed or nervous about asking my questions. On the other side, I used to be a wallflower and cringe when someone asked me a question. Now I have the confidence to share what I’m thinking when I feel it’s relevant.

I was grieving all the years when I wasn’t my authentic self, and celebrating my process of coming back to my authentic self. It feels good to be “home”.

Take a moment for yourself now, and consider what aspects of your authentic self you’ve lost touch with, and then think about about how you might find your way back to wholeness.

This entry was posted in About Me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

All inquiries and comments are confidential.

